Our Father

I remember when I first became a DRE I had just graduated from grad. school and once I settled into the job I was dumbfounded how many things I needed to do that I didn’t remember learning.  Here are a few things, for what they are worth, to consider as you get started.

 

1. Come up with a Calendar.  I realized early on that I needed to come up with a calender both for the days we were meeting and the days we were not going to meet as well as a catechist schedule so they knew what they needed to cover each week.  I will cover this one further in my next segment.

2. Consider how you are going communicate.  When I began in the late 90’s, the best way to communicate was through the bulletin and flyers.  Today that has expanded to much more – social media, websites and emails to name a few.  It’s important to discern in your parish what are best ways to communicate with parents, new and seasoned volunteers, and the parish at large.

3. Seek to work with your fellow staff members.  In a parish many things are going on to proclaim the Gospel to those in your parish and probably beyond your parish boundaries.  What are your colleagues doing and how can you work with them to make an impact in your parish.  Working together benefits the whole parish not to mention the various ministry leaders.

 

Anyone else have something to add regarding one of these considerations?  Please do share.

