Quote and Thought of the Week:question mark in sky

“What most prevents us from becoming saints is undoubtedly the difficulty we have in consenting fully to everything that happens to us, not, as we have seen, in the sense of a fatalistic passivity, but n the sense of a trusting total abandonment into the hands of our Father God.”

~ Fr. Jacques Philippe: In the School of the Holy Spirit

 

Fr. Phillipe speaks about the reality that when we encounter trials we often rebel or bear them unwillingly.  His solution is to accept God’s invitation to embrace a positive and fruitful attitude quoting St. Therese as a model: “I choose it all!” He says this means “I choose everything that God wants for me.  I won’t content myself with merely enduring, but by a free act of my will; I decide to choose what I have not chosen”.  The exterior reality does not change but ones interior attitude does and that makes a significant difference.  “This consent”, says Fr. Philippe, “inspired by love and trust, makes us free and active instead of passive, and enables God to draw good out of everything that happens to us whether good or bad” (Pg. 34).

 

Come Holy Spirit assist me to respond to the grace you’ve given me to practice abandonment!

