Last month  I read an article by Kathy Hendricks in the NCCL magazine about evaluating your program mid-way through the year.  As I’ve reflected on her article over the last couple of weeks I’ve done a lot of asking about how things are going with the catechists at my parish.  I’ve asked them to give feedback about the lesson plans I’ve provided them, about how we can involve parents more and about how we can be creative in our catechesis to children.  One of the reasons I wanted to do it now is that at the end of the year when I give out the evaluations it can be difficult for catechists to think of everything at the very end(I’m not sure why that is but there does seem to be some true to this).  I thought asking now would help catechists and my grade level coordinators process and reflect on how things were going.  I’ve asked catechists to send me an email or talk to me when they saw me.  It has been a good exercise of listening and reflecting.

If you are a director at your parish or if you are a catechist consider reflecting on what is working and what can be improved on.  It will help, I believe, get a more complete picture of how things are actually going.

Good Luck and God Bless!

