And he [Jesus] said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” – Matthew 18:3

My kids are the 3, 2, and 1 and they have an innocence about them that not only my wife and I delight in but so do others who encounter them.  This, I believe, is true for anyone who interacts with young children.  The authentic simplicity and excitement of children is challenging to match.  Adults seem to lose that sense of wonder and joy that kids have about the world around them.  Take for example the way a young child will talk about what is right and wrong: My 3 year old son will say things like…Daddy it’s not nice that my sister hit me or how carefree he is when he says…Do we get to go to Mass today? This is not to mention how uninhibited they are as they sing some song about Jesus.  All three of my kids know the St. Michael the Archangel Prayer and they say it with gusto.  The older we get the more we tend to lose what Jesus treasures in children and calls all His followers to imitate.  Here are 3 ways to live Matthew 18:3 in and out of the classroom:

1)   Be a person of wonder… Approach life as an adventure and take delight in the little things.

2) Imitate children by seeking to live life with a spirit of joy and simplicity.

3) At the end of each day find one thing that you did that resembled a child-like faith.  It may be challenge the first week or two but the more you do it the more you will “become like little children”.

Having this kind of faith and outlook on life brings renewal to the body of Christ from an authentic Gospel perspective.  And it helps others encounter the good news of Jesus Christ.

