Lent is approaching Fast.  Bishop Keven Vann wrote an article in the North Texas Catholic Newspaper that speaks about the 3 Sundays leading up to Lent.  I found the following couple sentences very interesting:

“[F]or centuries the Sunday Liturgies in this time had the Sundays which were called “Septuagesima, Sexagesima, and Quinquagesima” Sundays before Ash Wednesday to help prepare for Lent. My l962 Missal says that, “The three Sundays preceding Ash Wednesday are called SEPTUAGESIMA, SEXAGESIMA and QUINQUAGESIMA, which mean, respectively, the seventieth, sixtieth, and fiftieth day, that is, before Easter. They are mere names to correspond with the name of Lent (Quadragesima in Latin: ‘fortieth.’)”

I think this clearly shows the importance of preparing in advance for the Season of Lent.  I gave the following ideas: Lenten Classroom Ideas and more2011 gathered from various places to my catechists last week.  All our School of Religion classes this past Wednesday did a Lesson on Lent in order to help students prepare for the upcoming Liturgical Season.  Also, the Sunday Middle School classes will do the same.  I think it’s important to make sure students are thinking about how they are going to grow this Lent before Ash Wednesday is upon them, just as the Church has done for centuries.

I hope some of these ideas are helpful.  I’d love to hear from you and what ideas you are using in your classroom.

