Do you ever have the tendency to say more than less?  I know I do.  I admire those who can speak to the heart of the matter and no more.  Here are a few biblical catechists who did just that.  I have much to learn from them.  The following 3 saints give us a glimpse of catechizing so profoundly in just a few words.

Mary – The first catechist gives a great job description of a disciple of Jesus: “Do whatever He tells you” (John 2:5)

John the Baptist – “Behold the lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world” (John 1:29) and “He must increase and I must decrease” (John 3:30)

 

Elizabeth –  “Hail Mary, full of grace” (Luke 1:28) and “Elizabeth, filled with the holy Spirit, cried out in a loud voice and said, ‘Most blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb.  And how does this happen to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me’?” (Luke 1: 41-43)

 

May these saints help us this coming year to aspire to share the Good News with the humility, patients and charity they exemplified.  May we heed their words and come back to them regularly.

